Quality Integrated Education for All Children
Share This Page

Seven Hartford Schools; Four CREC Schools Receive National Awards of Excellence

Friday August 24, 2012

Seven Hartford Public Schools have been selected by Magnet Schools of America to receive Magnet Schools of Merit Awards, recognizing them as among the best schools of their kind in the United States.

Of these, three Hartford schools – the Hartford Magnet Trinity College Academy, Noah Webster MicroSociety Magnet School and University High School for Science & Engineering – were named Magnet Schools of Excellence, the top category given to select schools across the country. A total of 57 schools nationally received that designation this year.

Four other schools – Breakthrough Magnet, the Environmental Sciences Magnet School at Mary Hooker, R. J. Kinsella Magnet School of Performing Arts and the Sport and Medical Sciences Academy – were named to the second category of awards, Magnet Schools of Distinction.

For more on Hartford Public Schools Magnet Awards, read: http://www.hartfordschools.org/index.php/news/165-seven-hartford-magnet-schools-earn-national-awards.

Three of the Capitol Region Education Council (CREC)’s Magnet Schools were chosen by Magnet Schools of America (MSA) to receive the prestigious Magnet School of Distinction award, and one CREC Magnet School was awarded the top honor as a Magnet School of Excellence for 2012. These national merit awards are issued annually based on the school’s commitment to high academic standards, curriculum innovation, diversity, and the consistent delivery of an exceptional education to all students.

The Magnet Schools of Excellence honor was given to the Glastonbury-East Hartford Elementary Magnet School (K-5) in East Hartford. The Magnet Schools of Distinction winners are the Reggio Magnet School of the Arts (Pre-K-Grade 5)in Avon; the International Magnet School for Global Citizenship (Pre-K-Grade 5) in East Hartford; and the University of Hartford Magnet School (Pre-K-Grade 5) in West Hartford. CREC manages more than 30 facilities throughout the area, including 15 interdistrict magnet schools. For more, read: http://www.crecschools.org/press_releases/four-crec-schools-win-magnet-school-of-america-awards-of-merit-for-excellence-and-distinction/.

The schools selected as Magnet Schools of Excellence will be competing for the Dr. Ronald P. Simpson Distinguished Merit Award; given annually to the one magnet school in America that most exemplifies a commitment to diversity, high academic standards and curriculum innovation. Magnet Schools of America presented last year’s Dr. Ronald P. Simpson Award to Hartford Magnet Middle School in the city’s Learning Corridor.

There are about 6,000 magnet schools in the United States, serving more than 1 million students.